wnol.info May 23 2018

Nigeria include uncapped Simeon Nwankwo, Junior Lokosa in provisional 30-man squad

May 23 2018, 01:20 | Van Peters

Super Eagles

Super Eagles

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has named captain Mikel John Obi, defender Elderson Echiejile and Leon Balogun, midfielders Ogenyi Onazi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Ahmed Musa and Victor Moses in Nigeria's 30-man provisional list for the Russian Federation 2018 FIFA World Cup finals.

Moses, Iwobi and Musa lead a strong group of forwards in the 30-man squad that also includes Kelechi Iheanacho and Moses Simon.

The Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL)/leading top scorer Junior Lokosa and Simeon Nwankwo are the new faces that graced the list.

Nigerian football fans have reacted to Kano Pillars striker Junior Lokosa invitation to Super Eagles.

'Golden State Killer' Suspect Charged With Four More Murders
The Golden State Killer wore a mask and raped women who were home alone and women who were with their children, police said. He initially was charged with eight counts of murder and could face dozens more charges, authorities said.

"Simy" Nwankwo has impressed in the Serie A with seven goals thus far, while Lokosa has netted 18 with Kano Pillars.

There are no surprise inclusions in defence with the eagles regular back four including William Ekong and Leon Balogun making the list.

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Wilfred Ndidi, Uche Agbo, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi and Mikel Agu.

Argentina is one of the favourites to win the tournament and will share a group with Croatia, Iceland and Nigeria.

Other news