wnol.info March 22 2018

Voting underway for Phulpur, Gorakhpur by polls in UP

March 22 2018, 05:52 | Irvin Gilbert

Voting for Gorakhpur, Phulpur LS bypolls underway

Knock, knock: BSP leader Mayawati's ranks canvass for rival SP in Uttar Pradesh bypoll 

Voting for the bye-elections to Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats commenced today amid tight security.

The BJP has expressed confidence in winning the UP seats, especially the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by Yogi Adityanath for 5 consecutive terms before he was appointed Chief Minister.

BSP cadres organised street meetings in Gorakhpur's Rahji and Nandanagar areas and Phulpur's Allapur and Civil Lines on Friday, urging Mayawati's supporters to ensure a 100 per cent turnout.

Both Chief Minister Adityanath and Maurya claimed victory for the BJP candidates, irrespective of the voter turnout in the two seats.

Talking to media after casting his vote at Jawala Devi inter college, Maurya said that the unholy alliance between the SP and BSP will not at all have any impact on the "Vijay rath" of the BJP.

The Bahujan Samaj Party is doing for its old enemy, the Samajwadis, what the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh has been doing for its progeny, the BJP, for decades. The reason behind the lower-than-expected turnout in the high-stakes polls in the country's electorally most significant state was said to be a lack of enthusiasm among voters, who are now looking forward to general elections.

In Bihar, voting for by-election in Araria Lok Sabha seat and two assembly seats in Jehanabad and Bhabua are being held. The results will be declared on March 14.

Gorakhpur constituency has been a bastion of Yogi Adityanath who has contested and won on the seat five times in a row. Gorakhpur has 970 polling centres and 2,141 polling stations.

According to the Election Commission, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has a 19.49 lakh electorate.

In Gorakhpur, BJP has fielded party worker Upendra Shukla. "Their (SP-BSP) votes will be transferred only when they have enough votes".

The Congress is fighting on its own and has named Surahita Kareem as its candidate. Whereas, in Phulpur, the EC had assigned 793 polling centres and 2,059 polling booths. A total of 19.63 lakh voters will decide the fate of 22 candidates.

The BJP has fielded Kaushlendra Singh Patel against Nagendra Singh Patel of the SP.

Other news