Апреля 24 2018


Facebook to phase out third-party data targeting, pause app review

Апреля 24 2018, 06:44 | Guillermo Bowen

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg

UK Facebook users'could get £12,500 each after data breach

Facebook informed that the new privacy shortcuts menu would permit the users to quickly increase the account security and manage who could see their information and activity on the site and keep control on the ads they see.

Meanwhile, Facebook said that it is taking additional steps which will be rolled out in coming weeks to put people more in control of their privacy.

The company said the move is aimed at improving users' privacy on the network.

Relatively few people are aware of how these shadowy companies profile them, by combining data derived from browser tracking, public records, previous purchases and, of course, social media usage.

Among the privacy setting changes is a redesign of its privacy settings for mobile phones so that they'll appear on a single screen, instead of spread across 20 different ones. The study, which included 764 participants and followed a format for privacy policies modeled after a nutrition label, also found that people got through simpler policies more quickly and were less frustrated by the experience.

The new menu greatly simplifies how much control a user has over what information Facebook stores on them and then in turn how to delete it.

Читайте также: John Worboys judgment raises 'serious concerns' about judicial system, says Theresa May

For the unversed, Cambridge Analytica, the political data firm with ties to United States President Donald Trump's 2016 election campaign, is under fire for allegedly gaining access to private information of more than 50 million Facebook users, and influencing elections by using this stolen data. Earlier this week, it was reported that Facebook had collected personal data from some of its users, including call logs and text messages of consenting Android users. "You can go here to delete anything from your timeline or profile that you no longer want on Facebook", said the statement. This includes posts you've shared or reacted to, friend requests you've sent, and things you've searched for on Facebook. The company acknowledges that privacy settings and other important tools on its social media platform are pretty hard to find. Additionally, the user can delete from their profiles using a tool from a web browser, the spokesperson added.

Facebook has announced the closure of "Partner Categories", a product enabling advertisers to use information from third-party providers to target specific customers on the social network. But the update does not change Facebook's policies on collecting data about users, for now.

For those unaware, Facebook now uses facial recognition technology to alert users if someone uploads a photo of them.

"I have been examining this service in the context of my wider investigation into the use of personal data for political purposes and had raised it with Facebook as a significant area of concern", she said.

"Most of these updates have been in the works for some time, but the events of the past several days underscore their importance", Facebook said in a statement Wednesday.

При любом использовании материалов сайта и дочерних проектов, гиперссылка на обязательна.
«» 2007 - 2018 Copyright.
Автоматизированное извлечение информации сайта запрещено.

Код для вставки в блог



Other news