wnol.info February 19 2018

Former USC DB Ronnie Lott appointed to College Football Playoff selection committee

February 19 2018, 07:59 | Van Peters

Report OU Athletic Director to Join College Football Playoff Committee

Report  OU Athletic Director to Join College Football Playoff Committee

Oregon AD Rob Mullens replaces Hocutt as the committee's chair.

Castiglione, 60, has been AD at Oklahoma since 1998, and is regarded among the top administrators in the country.

The appointment of Castiglione, Stansbury and Stricklin continues the CFP's odd custom of having sitting athletic directors serve as committee members. Stricklin is Florida's AD, previously at Mississippi State.

Boivin is a former sportswriter for the Arizona Republic and now works for Arizona State's Journalism School and recently became the first female journalist to be elected to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.

The 75-year-old Hatfield, who went on to coach at Arkansas and Clemson, was hired as Air Force's offensive coordinator in 1978.

While it's true that Stansbury served as UCF's AD for a few years and Hatfield coached all over, non-powers are still under-represented. "He is an experienced committee member, extremely passionate about college football, detail-oriented and brings a high level of energy that is perfectly suited to chairing the committee". He also played for the Razorbacks from 1961-64.

Lott played at USC and enjoyed a 14-year National Football League career. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000. His selection is big for the Big 12, as the term of Texas Tech Athletic Director Kirby Hocutt is ending this month.

The College Football Playoff selection committee is always under the microscope and, while a place inside the group would be an impressive accomplishment, it comes with real responsibility. "The selection committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week, leading up to its final selections".

Other news