wnol.info January 22 2018

Rockets Eric Gordon Wins NBA 6th Man Of The Year

January 22 2018, 08:30 | Van Peters

Rockets Eric Gordon Wins NBA 6th Man Of The Year

Eric Gordon was a key part of the Rockets bench all season averaging 16.2 points per game

Gordon converted 246 threes on the year to finish fourth in the league, behind only Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, and teammate James Harden.

Green was rewarded for his do-everything role with the National Basketball Association champion Golden State Warriors.

Leonard was trying to be the first to win three in a row since Dwight Howard.

The Milwaukee Bucks and Houston Rockets have become double winners at the NBA Awards show. "The Greek Freak" Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks picked up the Most Improved Player Award. D'Antoni takes home the award over San Antonio Spurs headmaster Gregg Popovich and Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra. He led the Rockets to 55 victories and a league record for 3-pointers this season.

Eric Gordon was named the 2017 Sixth Man of the Year, becoming the first Rockets player to win the award. Isaiah Thomas of the Boston Celtics claimed the NBA Cares Community Assist Award while the legendary Bill Russell claimed the NBA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gordon is the first Rocket to win the award. He finished ahead of fellow finalists Lou Williams (a Rockets teammate with similar talents) and Golden State Warriors wing Andre Iguodala, although voting results were not immediately made available.

Gordon made a career-high 246 three-pointers this season, fourth in the National Basketball Association.

Mike D'Antoni had been out of the National Basketball Association coaching game for a few years, but jumped back into things last season with the Houston Rockets, and helped them turn things around.

According to ESPN, there was a major surprise when it came to the National Basketball Association award handed out for top rookie, or at least for those believing one of the Philadelphia Sixers' young stars would claim it.

Monday's show was hosted by Drake and had appearances by Will Ferrell, 2 Chainz, and Nicki Minaj. Brogdon beat out finalists Joel Embiid and Dario Saric, both of the Philadelphia 76ers.

"This is a testament to guy's who are overlooked, guys who are second-round picks", Brogdon said.

For the past season, Westbrook averaged 31.6 points, 10.4 assists, and 10.7 rebounds per game.

Brogdon, who played college ball at Virginia, is the first player to win ACC Player of the Year and NBA Rookie of the Year since Elton Brand in 1999-00. There were four worldwide players on the first team for the first time in the award's history.

Other news